top of page

WEEKLY BLOGS

Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Varghese

A little bit of this and a little bit of that.

Updated: Dec 12, 2017



This past week consisted of starting to create our résumés and doing our first “real” assessment. The résumé process was interesting. My current résumé sticks to my initial color palette, that I used for my website. Since none of us are real professional with much experience, majority of what we have on our résumés demonstrates our strengths in areas related to the field we are pursuing.


The assessment was also a lot of fun because we actually got to research whatever we found interesting and that is such a refreshing assignment compared to the other ones I have to do for school.


Databases. Databases are both a blessing and a curse. Using them can be frustrating at times because they have so much information contained in them, but at the same time our databases are helping me find articles that I do not need to pay for. Why does everything cost money? At least Frisco ISD pays for our databases.


As we are getting closer to going out on interviews and calling professionals I need to keep in mind the differences in aeronautical and astronautical engineering because I prefer the latter, but at the same time astronautical engineering is such a niche field and it is hard to find professionals out here in Frisco. The assessment we did this past week made me realize how enjoyable research is, specifically pioneering research that attempt to expand the current thought process and materials used. After that I began thinking about looking into smaller research based consultants or even retired professionals who could help me find the professionals or companies I am searching for.


I plan on looking into small companies near us and also trying to reach out to the Johnson Space Center even though it’s in Houston, I still want to at least contact real professionals in astronautical engineering, and what place is better than a NASA Space Center.


This upcoming week should be exciting. I just checked the calendar and I am very excited to have everyone check out my résumé and help me make it look more appealing. Résumé building is always irritating, but I am so proud of it afterwards. Having a résumé will help me in many ways past ISM. It is a good skill to have, not to mention it will help me when I apply to different internships and more.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page