top of page

WEEKLY BLOGS

Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Varghese

A long walk.



Weekly Report: 3/5 - 3/18


The friday before break was very exciting. I finally got to go to the Lockheed Martin and get a tour of the facility. Because of the size I had to walk a few miles over the course of the mentor visit in order to take everything in. This was the first time I really got to see aerospace engineering and engineering as a whole and all the parts come together. When I first got to there I ended up at the back of the plant - because the place is HUGE - which is definitely restricted, so I had to find my way to the front where visitors are allowed to enter. Other than that minor hiccup everything was better than I even imagined. I saw two F-18s takeoff even before the visit began.


I saw how many details and parts work together on even a singular wing of an aircraft. The tour really helped me realized how many different components of engineering work together to create something of this magnitude. It’s not just aerospace engineers and mechanical engineers. Literally every single type of engineer has a role to play. Someone has to create the parts. Someone has to create the machines used to create the parts. It’s all interconnected.


I learned what composite materials were, something that will definitely come in handy for my final product. Composites, metals, and alloys will all be possible materials for my exoskeleton.

Going forward, the most pertinent step that I need to complete is creating a list of requirements - the next step in the engineering method. I must complete this before my next mentor visit which will probably be this Friday.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page