top of page

WEEKLY BLOGS

Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Varghese

Adulting!

Updated: Dec 12, 2017



The past week of ISM felt like the first “real” week. We no longer had just the weekly report. Our first assessment was due this past Friday. There were also three other assignments: making our website, fifteen interview questions, and getting around twenty-five contacts.


Making a website is frustrating. I have newfound respect for anyone who can keep their cool and efficiently make a website. It really takes a lot of patience to learn how to use different tools on a new website and took quite a while to get used to. I think a lot of ISM will be similar to this since everything we will be doing this year is completely new and different from any of my previous classes, so patience will be a very useful skill.


Another very important thing I accomplished this week was creating a LinkedIn. I feel like an adult! Making a LinkedIn was the only way I could get into contact with people employed in the aerospace field and it helps with networking, so now I truly understand why adults are obsessed with the site. I also had to call up a few places and ask the secretary to give me the contact information of an employee and believe it or not, I got two emails this way. I’ve never had to call a place to get contact information, so it was a bit nerve-racking, but it is an important part of ISM as well so I had to do it at least once.


The research assessment was a bit difficult because it was the career outlook, so it is more factual and about the career itself. The other article I used was very technical and was not as introductory as I was hoping, so on this next research assessment, I plan on finding a simpler article that talks more about the basic overview of information necessary for the aerospace career field.


I am very excited for the upcoming weeks because I feel like we are about to dive in and start doing interviews and I just can’t wait. We will be starting to work on our resumes this week and do another research assessment.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page