top of page

WEEKLY BLOGS

Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Varghese

The big one.




This past week of ISM is characterized by one big event: the symposium. It was the first time we, as Reedy ISM students, interacted with professionals in a networking environment and had practice interviews. It was one of the most enjoyable evenings and every single professional I talked to was beyond kind and interested and amazed by the program.


The interviews were very beneficial. One area I should focus on how much I share. Mr. Speice said my critic was that I overshared. Going forward, I really need to work on being professional throughout the entire interview because I tend to be very open and talkative, which can be a curse. I need to highlight the best characteristics of my personality and not share too much (things that can be downfalls).


Another important thing that happened at the symposium was hearing the old Liberty teacher’s presentation about self branding. It really made me think about what my overarching goals of the ISM program are and all the steps I need to take in order to reach it. I realized that I need to keep this goal in mind in order to be successful and take purposeful steps along the way.


Networking with professionals also ensured that I could successfully make small talk because majority of the professionals there were not in the aerospace field and so there was little overlap. This meant that we needed to have a casual, but insightful conversation about us as people rather than a specific career.


Networking with the students was also beneficial. One student from Wakeland alerted me of an aerospace engineer who came to the symposium. Although I couldn’t find him, the Wakeland student remembered the company he worked for and Mr. Speice gave me his name. I plan on contacting him later today.


The symposium made me realize how excited I am to interview with aerospace professionals and I hope I can get an interview this week.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page