top of page

WEEKLY BLOGS

Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Varghese

What possibilities the future holds.


Weekly Report: 2/12 - 2/18


This week focused mainly on two big things: my original work presentation and my first mentor visit. I am happy to report that both went well!


My presentation was okay. I accidentally grabbed the wrong binder so I didn’t have my portfolio. I felt rushed during the whole presentation, not because there was too much content and not enough time, but more so due to all the important activities coming to a head right now. I felt really distracted, frazzled, and out of it that Thursday. My biggest accomplishment was actually being able to speak for that long without dying. My presentation lasted about 18 minutes and I didn’t choke up on saliva and other random things that happen to me. Also, I cut out fillers, which is always a plus! The presentation was relaxed, I felt little to no nerves and that helped me get through it without excessive nervous energy. At the same time, that relaxed state kind of caused me to phrase certain things too casually. That is something I often struggle with.


The first mentor visit was fantastic. We covered the mentor handbook to set expectations on both sides of the ISM mentor program. The highlight, though, was the feedback on my final product rough draft. Overall, Mr. Ekpete seemed happy and pleased with the proposal. He helped me learn the engineering method/design, something I most certainly need in the field. Leaving the meeting, I felt very encouraged and realized all the potential that the idea holds, but also the time and energy this would require.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page